Sangharakshita Complete Works

Subscribe to The Complete Works of Sangharakshita.  Be part of an enduring legacy for Triratna and the Buddhist world. Click to the edition of your choice:

Subscribe and receive eight volumes now. The volumes you will receive now are: The Three Jewels II, which contains Who is the Buddha?, What is the Dharma? and What is the Sangha?Dr Ambedkar and the Revival of Buddhism IMahayana Myths and Stories, The Rainbow Road from Tooting Broadway to Kalimpong, A Survey of Buddhism/The Buddha’s Noble Eightfold Path, Milarepa and the Art of Discipleship I and II, and Facing Mount Kanchenjunga.

In April 2019, our subscribers will receive four new volumes: The Three Jewels IThe Bodhisattva Ideal, Eastern and Western Traditions and In the Sign of the Golden Wheel.

You can donate direct to The Complete Works project:

Venerable Sangharakshita is one of the most significant Buddhist pioneers in the West. I have always looked to his books for inspiration and ideas on how to better translate the principles and practices of Buddhism for western audiences and practitioners today. – Lama Surya Das

Sangharakshita (1925-2018) was the founder, principal teacher and guide of the Triratna Buddhist Order and Community.  The Complete Works of Sangharakshita include all his previously published work, as well as talks, seminars and writings published for the first time. This collection represents the definitive edition of his life’s work as a Buddhist writer and teacher.


Windhorse Publications is very proud to be publishing this new collection.

Launched in October 2016, we aim to publish the twenty-seven volumes over eight years, not in strict volume order, but in groups of four or five volumes ranging over each of the six ‘baskets’ that the collection is divided into – Foundation, India, The West, Commentary, Memoirs, and Poetry and the Arts. Learn more about the project. View the list of all titles in the Complete Works.

When you subscribe:

  • you pay up to 34% less per volume than the standard retail price
  • you can choose to receive just the print editions – soft or hardback – or the print plus the eBook editions
  • at the end of the publishing period you will have all twenty-seven volumes – a beautifully produced and authoritative collection of Sangharakshita’s writings
  • annual payments as in the table below are for five years.

Subscriptions Table

Shipping costs for hardback or paperback are as follows:

Please note that all the subscription options are not subject to either of our membership discounts, i.e. the Free Sign-up or Supporting Membership.

Click to subscribe to the edition of your choice:

Available Volumes:

  • Volume 1, A Survey of Buddhism/The Buddha’s Noble Eightfold Path, which includes two foundational texts that have inspired readers for decades.  In A Survey of Buddhism, out of print for a couple years, Sangharakhita’s beautiful prose, shot through with poetry, combines with an exceptional clarity of thought to make this one of the most inspiring elucidations of the Dharma. The Buddha’s Noble Eightfold Path: Vision and Transformation makes clear one of the best known formulations of the Buddha’s teaching.
  • Volume 3, The Three Jewels II, which contains What is the Dharma? and two previously out of print titles: What is the Sangha? and Who is the Buddha?  This volume also contains new endnotes, which take the reader to the original sources of the many teachings given in these commentaries, i.e. to the Buddha’s teachings in the Pali Canon and Mahayana Sutras. The Three Jewels II extracts
  • Volume 9, Dr Ambedkar and the Revival of Buddhism I. In 1956, along with hundreds of thousands of his followers, Ambedkar renounced the Hindu caste system – according to which they were condemned to be ‘untouchable’ – and converted to Buddhism. In Dr Ambedkar and the Revival of Buddhism I, Sangharakshita explains clearly why Dr. Ambedkar is of continuing relevance to all Buddhists worldwide.
  • Volume 16, Mahayana Myths and Stories, which brings together The Drama of Cosmic Enlightenment: Parables, Myths and Symbols of the White Lotus Sutra; The Priceless Jewel (essay); Transforming Self and World: Themes from the Sutra of Golden Light; The Inconceivable Emancipation: Themes from the Vimalakīrti-Nirdeśa and new endnotes reflecting original sources. A beautiful foreword by Ratnaguna introduces the volume. Mahāyāna Myths and Stories extracts
  • Volume 18, Milarepa and the Art of Discipleship I, and Volume 19, Milarepa and the Art of Discipleship II, which explore the encounters of the famous Tibetan yogi Milarepa with those he met and taught after his own Enlightenment. The main emphasis of these volumes is simply on how to overcome the difficulties that are sure to befall the would-be spiritual practitioner, how to learn what we need to learn – in short, the art of discipleship
  • Volume 20, The Rainbow Road from Tooting Broadway to Kalimpong, which contains Sangharakshita’s memoir, The Rainbow Road, which has been long out of print, and a foreword by editor Kalyanaprabha, with reflections on autobiography and the novel and how reading Sangharakshita’s memoirs can be a kind of spiritual friendship (kalyana mitrata). The Rainbow Road extracts
  • Volume 21, Facing Mount Kanchenjunga, which includes Facing Mount Kanchenjunga and Dear Dinoo. Facing Mount Kanchenjunga covers the period 1950-1953, beginning with Sangharakshita’s arrival in Kalimpong as a twenty-four-year-old novice monk. The twenty-nine letters collected together in Dear Dinoo span the period 1955-1974, giving a sighting of Sangharakshita’s life as he experienced it at the time, including what happened on the day of Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar’s untimely death in 1956

[Sangharakshita] treats all the Buddhist canonical literature with the respect it deserves and presents carefully argued defences of the tradition, while correcting a number of widely held misrepresentations of it … – Lama Shenpen Hookham

Learn more about the Complete Works project on our news page or read about Complete Works progress at The Buddhist Centre online.

Watch this video to hear two key editors, Kalyanaprabha and Vidyadevi, discuss their roles in the Complete Works project: